Parts of Constitution

Parts of Constitution

  1. Part I (A:1-4): The Union and its Territories
  2. Part II (A:5-11): Citizenship
  3. Part III (A:12-35): Fundamental Rights
  4. Part IV (A:36-51): Directive Principles of State Policy
  5. Part IVA (A:51A): Fundamental Duties*
  6. Part V (A:52-151): The Union
  7. Part VI (A:152-237): The States
  8. Part VII (Repealed): The States in Part B of First Schedule*
  9. Part VIII (A:239-242): The Union Territories
  10. Part IX (A:243-243O): The Panchayats
  11. Part IXA (A:243P-243ZG): The Municipalities*
  12. Part IXB (A:243ZH-243 ZT): The Co-Operative Societies*
  13. Part X (A:244-244A): The Scheduled and Tribal Areas
  14. Part XI (A:245-263): Relations between the Union and the States
  15. Part XII (A:264-300A): Finance, Property, Contracts and Suits
  16. Part XIII (A:301-307): Trade, Commerce and Intercourse within the territory of India
  17. Part XIV (A:308-323): Services Under the Union and the States
  18. Part XIVA (A:323A-323B): Tribunals
  19. Part XV (A:324-329A): Elections
  20. Part XVI (A:330-342): Special provisions relating to certain classes
  21. Part XVII (A:343-351): Official Language
  22. Part XVIII (A:352-360) : Emergency Provisions
  23. Part XIX (A:361-367): Miscellaneous
  24. Part XX (A:368): Amendment of the Constitution
  25. Part XXI (A:369-392): Temporary, Transitional and Special Provisions
  26. Part XXII (A:393-395): Short Title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and Repeals


Part VII ( dealing with Part - B states) was deleted by the 7th Amendment Act (1956).

Both Part IV-A and Part XIV-A were added by the 42nd Amendment Act (1976).

Part IX-A was added by the 74th Amendment Act (1992).

Part IX-B was added by the 97th Amendment Act (2011).