Match items in column A with one or more items in column B:

Column A

(i) Inner planets

(ii) Outer planets

(iii) Constellation

(iv) Satellite of the Earth

Column B

(a) Saturn

(b) Pole Star

(c)Great Bear

(d) Moon

(e) Earth

(f) Orion

(g) Mars

(i) Inner planets - (e) Earth and (g) Mars

There are eight planets in the Solar System. The first four planets, Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are much nearer the Sun than the other four planets. They are called the inner planets. The inner planets have very few moons.

(ii) Outer planets - (a) Saturn

The planets outside the orbit of Mars, namely Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are much farther off than the inner planets. They are called the outer planets. They have a ring system around them. The outer planets have large number of moons. The outer planets can be seen only with the help of large telescopes.

(iii) Constellation - (c)Great Bear and (f) Orion

The stars forming a group that has a recognisable shape is called a constellation. We can easily identify them in the night sky. Ursa Major and Orion are the examples of the constellations.

(iv) Satellite of the Earth - (d) Moon

Moon is the natural satellite of the Earth. It revolves around the Earth.