Name the three layers of earth. Draw a labelled diagram to show the structure of earth.

The Earth consists of four concentric layers: The inner core, outer core, mantle and the crust. The crust is made up of tectonic plates which are in constant motion. Earthquakes and volcanoes are most likely to occur at plate boundaries.

The Earth is made up of following distinct layers:

1. The inner core: It is in the center of the Earth. It is the hottest part of the Earth. It is solid and is made up of iron and nickel. It has a temperature of up to 5,500°C.

2. The outer core: It is the layer surrounding the inner core. It is a liquid layer. It is also made up of iron and nickel. It is still extremely hot, with temperatures similar to the inner core.

3. The mantle: It is the widest section of the Earth. It has a thickness of approximately 2,900 km. The mantle is made up of semi-molten rock called magma.

4. The crust: It is the outer layer of the earth. It is a thin layer between 0-60 km thick. The crust is the solid rock layer upon which we live.

There are two different types of crust: continental crust, which carries land, and oceanic crust, which carries water.