Trace the emergence of BJP as a significant force in post-Emergency politics.

Bharatiya Janata Party is a major National Political Party in India. The B.J.P. believes in one nation, one people, and one culture.

Emergence of BJP as a Powerful Force in Post- Emergency Politics:

Though Janata Party faced a split in July 1979 on the issue of dual membership but this controversy did not end even after the split.

On 5th April, 1980, the members of former Jan Sangh group called a two day national convention at Delhi and decided to form a new party. On 6th April 1980, a new political organisation i.e., the Bharatiya Janata Party was born under the president ship of former Foreign Minister Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee. On April 24, 1980 the Election Commission granted recognition to the group led by Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee as a ‘national party’ with the distinct name of the Bharatiya Janata Party, The B.J.P. was also provisionally allotted the symbol of ‘Lotus.’

In the 10th Lok Sabha elections in 1991 B.J.P. secured 119 seats and formed the government in U.P. In 1991, the B.J.P. leader L.K. Advani was recognised as leader o the opposition in the Lok Sabha. In the elections held for 11th Lok Sabha in 1996 the B.J.P. emerged as the largest party securing 161 seats. Its leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee was appointed Prime Minister and he was asked to prove his majority up to 31st o May, 1996 but Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee resigned on 28 May, 1996 because he failed to prove his majority in the Lok Sabha. Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the recognised opposition leader in the 11th Lok Sabha. In the 12th Lok Sabha elections held in Feb-March 1998, B.J.P. SECURED 182 SEATS. The B.J.P. and its allies secured 252 seats in the 12th Lok Sabha elections. Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was elected as the Party leader by the newly elected B.J.P. Lok Sabha members. Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was appointed the Prime Minister. In the 13th Lok Sabha election held in Sept.-Oct. 1999, B.J.P. secured 182 seats whereas B.J.P. and its allies secured 297 seats. On 10th Oct. 1999 National Democratic Alliance elected Sh. Atal Bihari Vajpayee as its leader and he was appointed as the Prime Minister. In 14th Lok Sabha elections held in 2004, B.J.P. secured only 138 seats and lost the power in centre. In 15th Lok Sabha election held in 2009, B.J.P. secured only 116 seats. In the 16th Lok Sabha election held in 2014, BJP won 282 seats, and formed the government under the leadership of Sh. Narender Modi.