Discuss the major features of Mughal provincial administration. How did the centre control the provinces?

The Mughal state had province which were called the Subas. These Subas were looked after the Diwan, Bakshi and Sadar. The head of the provincial government was the governor (subedar) who reported directly to the emperor.

Each Subas was divided into various sarkars. Then there were districts which were looked after by faujdars. Then there was pargana, that is, sub-district. It had three semi-hereditary officers such as the qanungo (keeper of the revenue record), the chaudhari (in charge of revenue collection) and the qazi. Each department of administration had a large number of clerks, accountants, auditors and messengers. Besides there were technically qualified officers who functioned in accordance with fixed rulers and procedures.